The Aitkin County Board of Commissioners met this 5<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2018 at 11:00 a.m. in Courtroom 1 of the Aitkin County Courthouse, with the following members present: Board Chair Anne Marcotte, Commissioners J. Mark Wedel, Laurie Westerlund, and Bill Pratt. Commissioner Don Niemi was absent. County Administrator Jessica Seibert and Administrative Assistant Sue Bingham were also present.

CALL TO ORDER

Motion by Commissioner Wedel, seconded by Commissioner Pratt and carried, all members present voting yes to approve the June 5, 2018 agenda.

APPROVED AGENDA

John Welle, County Engineer discussed the bids for Contract No. 20182 which had previously been reviewed at the May 22, 2018 County Board meeting. At that time the bids were tabled until the June 12, 2018 County Board meeting. John Welle explained that he requested a Special Meeting today because considering the award a week earlier is anticipated to be more favorable for negotiating contract changes that will reduce the cost of the contract. Motion for a resolution by Commissioner Westerlund, seconded by Commissioner Pratt and carried, all members present voting yes to adopt resolution – Award Contract No. 20182:

**WHEREAS,** Contract No. 20182 is for construction of S.A.P. 001-612-021, S.A.P. 001-612-022 and C.P. 001-053-003, and

RESOLUTION 20180605-043 AWARD CONTRACT NO. 20182

**WHEREAS**, sealed bids were opened for this project at 2:00 p.m. on Monday, May 21, 2018 with a total of six bids received, and

WHEREAS, Knife River, Sauk Rapids, MN was the lowest responsible bidder in the amount of \$3,489,566.86.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Knife River is awarded Contract No. 20182.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the chairperson of the Aitkin County Board and the Aitkin County Administrator are hereby authorized and directed to enter into a contract on behalf of Aitkin County with said low bidder upon presentation of proper contract documents.

**ADJOURN** 

Motion by Commissioner Wedel, seconded by Commissioner Pratt and carried, all members present voting to adjourn the meeting at 11:10 a.m.

Anne Marcotte, Board Chair

Aitkin County Board of Commissioners

Jessida Seibert, County Administrator