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FACILITIES USE AGREEMENT
BETWEEN
Aitkin County Health & Human Services
AND
STATE OF MINNESOTA
MINNESOTA STATE COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES

Pine Technical College

THIS AGREEMENT is between the Aitkin County Health & Human Services

(“Licensor”) and the State of Minnesota acting through its Board of Trustees of the Minnesota
State Colleges and Universities, on behalf of Pine Technical College (“Licensee™), and is

governed by Minnesota law.

1.

PERMITTED USE. Licensor agrees to allow Licensee use of the following:

Location: 204 1% St. NW, Aitkin MN 56431

Date and Time: July 1, 2013 — June 30, 2014

Description of Activity or Event:

Early Childhood classes/trainings for Child Care Aware of Minnesota Northeast.

2,

FEE. For its use of the Space, Licensee agrees to pay to Licensor a fee of Zero Dollars
($0.00).

TERM OF AGREEMENT; CANCELLATION. This agreement shall be effective as
of July 1, 2013 or the date when the final required signature is obtained by Licensee, and
shall remain in effect until June 30, 2014. This agreement may be canceled by either
party at any time, for any reason, upon 5 (five) days written notice to the other party.




4. CONTRACT ADMINISTRATION.

Licensee’s authorized agent:

Name: Wendy Walburg

Address: Pine Technical College, 900 4™ St SE, Pine City, MN 55063
Phone: 320-629-5146

Fax: 320-629-5107

Licensor’s authorized agent:

Name: Thomas Burke

Facility: Aitkin County Human Services
Address: 204 1st St NW, Aitkin, MN 56431
Phone: 218-927-7200

5. MAINTENANCE OF SPACE. Licensee agrees to maintain the Space in a reasonably
clean and sanitary condition. Licensor shall provide all utilities reasonably required to
use the space as identified herein. After Licensee has completed its use and occupancy of
the Space, Licensor will inspect the Space for damaged, missing or destroyed items,
including fixtures, equipment and machinery. With respect to such damaged, missing or
destroyed items, Licensor shall have the right, in its sole discretion, to either (a) repair,
restore, or replace such items at its own cost, and submit an invoice for the same to
Licensee, which Licensee agrees to pay within thirty (30) days thereafter, or (b) to require
Licensee to repair, restore, or replace all damaged, missing or destroyed items to the
satisfaction of Licensor all at Licensee’s cost.

6. BUILDING HOURS. The building hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The Licensee may
access the space up to 1/2 hour prior to class and close up to 1/2 hour after class, from
6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. The building will be open and the Licensee will not be

responsible for the opening or closing of the building.

75 RULES AND REGULATIONS. Licensee agrees to comply with the building rules and
regulations set forth by Licensor consistent with federal and state law during its use of the

Space, including complying with designated smoking areas.

8. LICENSEE’S INSURANCE. During the term of this Agreement, Licensee shall
maintain in effect commercial general liability insurance in conformance with the Tort
Claims limits set forth in Minn. Stat. §3.736, subd. 4, as amended. Licensee shall name
Licensor as an additional insured. Licensee shall maintain this coverage at its sole

expense during its use of the Space.

During the term of this Agreement, Licensor shall maintain in effect commercial general
liability insurance with limits not less than $2,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000
annual aggregate for bodily injury and property damage. Licensor shall maintain this
coverage at its sole expense during the term of this Agreement.
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

Licensee and Licensor shall provide each other with certificates of insurance before
Licensee begins occupying the Space pursuant to this Agreement. Coverage afforded
under these policies shall not be cancelled without at least thirty (30) days advance
written notice to the certificate holder.

Each party, at its sole expense, shall provide and maintain workers’ compensation
insurance as such party may be required to obtain by law. The Licensee is self-insured
for workers’ compensation purposes, and any such insurance extends only to employees
of Licensee, not to students.

LIABILITY. Each party shall be responsible for its own acts and omissions and the
results thereof to the extent authorized by law and shall not be responsible for the other
party’s acts and omissions and the results thereof. Licensee’s liability under this
Agreement is governed by the Minnesota Tort Claims Act, Minnesota Statutes §3.736

and other applicable laws.

MINNESOTA DATA PRACTICES ACT. Licensee and Licensor agree to comply
with the terms of the Minnesota Data Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 13, with

regard to data related to this Agreement.

AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT (ADA) COMPLIANCE. Licensee
agrees that in occupying the Space, it is responsible for complying with the Americans
with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. section 12101, et seq., and any regulations promulgated
pursuant to the Act. Licensor is not responsible for issues or challenges related to
compliance with the ADA beyond its own routine use of facilities, services, or other areas

covered by the ADA.

AUDIT. The books, records, documents, and accounting procedures and practices of the
Licensor relevant to this contract shall be subject to examination by Licensee and the
Legislative Auditor for a minimum of six (6) years from the end of the agreement.

NO ASSIGNMENT; AMENDMENTS. Licensee shall neither assign nor transfer any
rights or obligations under this agreement without the prior written consent of Licensor.
All amendments to this agreement shall be in writing and executed by a duly authorized

representative of each party.

SPECIAL PROVISIONS:

Whiteboard, TV, DVD player.
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APPROVED:

1. LICENSOR: Tom Burke
Aitkin County Health & Human Services

By (authorized signature & printed name)

Title

Date

2. LICENSEE: MINNESOTA STATE COLLEGES

AND UNIVERSITIES

By (authorized signature)

W<y e Ao Btyid Qaontiyezitr e

Date %7/_,@’//-5

4. As to Encumbrance:

Aitkin County Board of Commissioners

By (authorized signature & printed name)

Title

Date

3. AS TO FORM AND EXECUTION:

By (authorized signature) By (authorized signature)
Title Title
Date Date
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